Cody Jinks, Shooter Jennings Join Billy Don Burns on New Album

When broaching the subject of forgotten Outlaws who’ve gone criminally underrated by the callous country music industry, Billy Don Burns has to to be right near the top of the list. His songs have been recorded by the likes of Willie Nelson, Johnny Paycheck, Hank Cochran, Mel Tillis, Sammy Kershaw, Whitey Morgan, Cody Jinks, Colter Wall, and Connie Smith among others, as well as working as a producer for Merle Haggard and Johnny Paycheck.

The country industry may have forgotten ol’ Billy Don, but his fellow artists most certainly haven’t, including the new crop of Outlaw-style country artists that look up to him as a patron saint. That is why he’ll be joined by Cody Jinks, Shooter Jennings, Whey Jennings, Wes Shipp, and The Storey Boys on his new upcoming album I’ve Seen a Lot of Highway to be released on October 6th.

“It’s been three years since I released an album, and I’m giving everything I’ve got with this new one” says Billy Don. “I’m lucky to have the opportunity to work with some of the best producers, songwriters and Nashville players – many of whom I’ve known for decades. There’s a lot of highway and a lot of love on this album.”

The album is being released on the Shooter Jennings label Black Country Rock. Denny Knight, Jerry Laseter, Billy Lawson and Wendell Grigsby all worked as co-producers on various sessions that went down in Nashville and Muscle Shoals. Billy Don Burns co-wrote all twelve of the songs featured on the album, some of which may be familiar material to long-time Billy Don fans, including the first song released from the album, called “Neon Circus.”

This new version of “Neon Circus” is a duet with Shooter Jennings (listen below). Burns wrote the song some 25 years ago with Mack Vickery, and it was also featured on the album Graveyard in Montgomery from a few years back.

Billy Don Burns is the definition of “the real deal,” as Saving Country Music has featured before, including Willie Nelson writing him a letter of endorsement when he got into some legal trouble. Billy Don also won SCM’s 2012 Song of the year for “Stranger.”

I’ve Seen A Lot of Highway is now available for pre-order.


1. Neon Circus (featuring Shooter Jennings)
2. All She Put Him Through
3. Don’t Cry For Me
4. Born To Ride
5. I’ve Seen A Lotta Highway (featuring Cody Jinks)
6. I Went Crazy (featuring Whey Jennings)
7. You Can’t Change Me (featuring Wes Shipp)
8. Satan Is A SOB (featuring The Storey Boys)
9. That’s When I Knew
10. Motel Madness
11. Mack Story
12. Talk About Crazy

© 2024 Saving Country Music