Dolly Parton to Release New Album and Novel “Run, Rose, Run”

photo: Rob Hoffman

Dolly Parton is celebrating her 76th birthday today, January 19th. And the Country music legend, actor, benefactor, altruist, cultural icon, and queen to many will also soon add novelist to her resume when she releases the novel Run, Rose, Run on March 4th in collaboration with bestselling author James Patterson.

Reportedly about a star on the rise singing about the hard life she left behind her, Rose goes to Nashville to claim her destiny, but also may find the darkness she fled waiting for her in Music City, and looking to destroy her aspirations.

The novel Run, Rose, Run was announced a few months ago, but now it’s been revealed that a new 12-song Run, Rose, Run album from Dolly Parton will also accompany the release, with 12 new original songs written by Dolly Parton to sync up with the written work. It will be Dolly’s first album of original music in nearly five years, and includes collaborations with Ben Haggard and Joe Nichols.

The album should be considered an accompaniment to the novel, not vice versa. But Dolly Parton hopes the music will help introduce a wider audience to her story. Ahead of both the novel and the new album, Dolly has released the song “Big Dreams and Faded Jeans” (listen below).

“So many people come to Nashville with their sack of songs,” Dolly says. “Whether they’re running from anything or not, they’re running towards a future. That’s what ‘Big Dreams and Faded Jeans’ is all about. I am so pleased to finally share the first song from this exciting new album with all of you!” 

The novel Run, Rose, Run can be pre-ordered here, and the album Run, Rose, Run can be pre-ordered here.

Run, Rose, Run TRACK LIST

Side A:

1. Run
2. Big Dreams and Faded Jeans
3. Demons (with Ben Haggard)
4. Driven
5. Snakes In The Grass
6. Blue Bonnet Breeze 

Side B:

1. Woman Up and Take It Like A Man
2. Firecracker
3. Secrets
4. Lost and Found (with Joe Nichols)
5. Dark Night, Bright Future
6. Love or Lust (with Richard Dennison) 

© 2022 Saving Country Music