Ellis Bullard Doubles Down on Honky Tonk for Sophomore Album

Down in Austin, there is a new hot shit country band everybody in town is raving over, from the hipsters and old fogies two-stepping at The White Horse and Sagebrush, to Joe Rogan himself. His name is Ellis Bullard, and he’s already busting out on the national scene and starting to fill rooms across the country from his version of “piss-hot freightlining country music.”

That isn’t just a description of the music, that was the name of Bullard’s breakout album from 2022. Now Bullard and his band are keeping their foot on the pedal and upping the ante with a new song, and a new album, both of which are called Honky Tonk Ain’t Noise Pollution. The new song is in your ears now, and the album will be out on Feel So Good Records come February 9th, 2024.

“These days the radio’s broken, everybody’s up for sale,” Bullard preaches in the opening phrase of the song while proudly holding a Peavy guitar on the album cover. Even after Joe Rogan shouted Bullard out numerous times and even wore his merch on the podcast, Bullard is still committed to keeping it real, and building this thing up via the grassroots.

Ellis Bullard comes from a long background of pickers and performers. His mom was sang down in Muscle Shoals studios back in the 60s and 70s, and his great grandfather was a guitar player hanging around the Chet Atkins orbit. Bullard has also been in a number of other bands, playing music on the road for going on a decade. But when he started his own with a bunch of players from other Austin projects, everything started to click and the crowds dug it.

Soon Ellis Bullard and his band were a going concern on a nightly basis, and folks were packing out the clubs whenever they played. It’s also important to emphasize that even though it’s Ellis Bullard’s name on the cover, he considers this a band effort, and Honky Tonk Ain’t Noise Pollution will be no different.

Austin already knows about this guy, but the rest of the world is about to find out. He’s playing Friday night (10-6) at the legendary Austin night spot Antone’s, then at the massive ACL Fest this weekend, then the iconic Honky Tonk Tuesday Night at the American Legion Post in Nashville on October 10th before heading back to Austin and The White Horse on the 11th.


1. Lucky Me, Lucky You, My Unlucky Ways
2. Prison In My Mind
3. What’s a Man To Do
4. Needin’ Green
5. Young Wild and Free
6. Patron and Lime
7. Happy Sad
8. Hopeless Waltz
9. Cocaine Money
10. Honky Tonk Ain’t Noise Pollution

© 2024 Saving Country Music