Kaitlin Butts To Release New Album “What Else Can She Do?”

photo: Mackenzie Ryan

At or near the top of the list of country music women who keep true to themselves and true to country music—and could really set the country music world on fire if they were just given a chance—is Oklahoma native and current Nashville resident Kaitlin Butts. Those familiar with Kaitlin’s strong voice and propulsive writing need no convincing of her powers. Those who aren’t familiar quickly buy in as soon as they hear her sing. Kaitlin Butts is a wellspring of talent just waiting to be tapped.

It’s been seven years since Kaitlin released her debut album Same Hell, Different Devil. And though she’s kept us satisfied with singles like 2019’s murderous “White River,” and 2021’s “How Lucky Am I” about the love for husband and Flatland Cavalry frontman Cleto Cordero, we were well past due for a new Kaitlin Butts record, which we will receive on April 15th in the form of What Else Can She Do?

“These songs are all stories of different women facing the question: what else can she do?” says Kaitlin. “Based on her circumstances, what choices does she have, right or wrong? I don’t think that life is all that pretty sometimes, and it comes with pain and pushing through hard times, being stagnant, going through the motions, not knowing what to do, or just being flat out angry with whatever life has put on your plate.”

There are only seven songs on the new album, but it doesn’t include the previous singles “White River,” “How Lucky Am I,” or another country banger released later in 2021, “Marfa Lights.” To keep the theme of What Else Can She Do? cohesive, those singles will stand alone, while the album will carry a deeper thematic message.

“I see myself in all of these women in these stories,” Kaitlin says. “I see these women in my friends and family all around me going through divorce, abuse, infidelity, financial instability, addiction, generational trauma, family issues, and life-altering tough times, but somehow are still resilient and come out on the other side okay. I hope this album makes you feel seen and comforts you in times of darkness. Know you are never alone and it won’t always be this way.”

Produced by Oran Thornton known for working with Angaleena Presley, and recorded at Nashville’s Sound Emporium Studios, What Else Can She Do? features Fred Eltringham on drums, Justin Schiper on pedal steel, Joshua Grange on electric guitar, and Lex Price on bass. Husband Cleto Cordero also contributes harmony vocals.

Ahead of the album, Kaitlin Butts has released the plaintive single “blood” (listen below). Co-written with Angaleena Presley, Butts used the experience of the divorce of her parents for inspiration, saying, “When it comes to family, it’s ‘normal’ to accept behavior that we wouldn’t from friends. And when a friend displays toxic, abusive behavior, we decide to cut ties and we may never see them again, but with family, it’s much easier said than done. I hope, of all my songs, that this one makes you feel like you’re not alone in it, if this is something you can relate to.”

What Else Can She Do? is now available for pre-order.


1. it won’t always be this way
2. bored if i don’t
3. what else can she do
4. jackson
5. she’s using
6. blood
7. in the pines

© 2022 Saving Country Music