Trampled By Turtles Announce New Album “Alpenglow”

Call them bluegrass. Call them folk or Americana. Call them whatever you want, but when Trampled By Turtles take the stage, something magical happens that’s hard to quantify. They grab your attention with amazing instrumentation normally only reserved for the highest echelons of bluegrass, while the songwriting of frontman Dave Simonett puts them in a different stratosphere and classification.

Dave Simonett and his bandmates Erik Berry (mandolin), Ryan Young (fiddle), Dave Carroll (banjo), Tim Saxhaug (bass) and Eamonn McLain (cello) come together once again for their latest album called Alpenglow to be released on October 28th. The band’s 10th album overall over a nearly 20-year run (has it really been that long?), the album is named after the optical phenomenon when the sun casts a reddish glow at dawn or dusk, accentuated often by mountains in the distance.

Alpenglow was produced by Jeff Tweedy of Wilco. Dave Simonett writes all the songs for the album, except one written by Tweedy. Alpenglow features the song “It’s So Hard To Hold On” that has been released ahead of the album (listen below). Certainly relevant for the moment, the song is about the passing of time, and how important it is to savor it. The video for the song is made up of images of Trampled by Turtles fans enjoying the band over the years.

From Duluth, Minnesota, Trampled by Turtles released their first album in 2004, but achieved breakout success with their 2010 album Palomino and the song “Wait So Long.” People came for the speed and musicianship, but stuck around from Dave Simonett’s songwriting. The band went on hiatus in 2017, with Simonett releasing a solo album under the name Dead Man Winter, but they returned in 2018 with their last album Life Is Good on the Open Road.

Trampled by Turtles have become one of the premier string bands in American roots music, scoffed at by some bluegrass purists, but embraced by all who love good music with traditional instrumentation.


1. It’s So Hard To Hold On
2. Starting Over
3. Central Hillside Blues
4. On The Highway
5. A Lifetime to Find
6. Nothing But Blue Skies
7. Burlesque Desert Window
8. All The Good Times Are Gone
9. We’re Alright
10. Quitting Is Rough
11. The Party’s Over

© 2024 Saving Country Music