Triston Marez Duets with Ronnie Dunn Ahead of Debut Album

photo: Brooke Stevens

Triston Marez has been a traditional country guy bubbling up in both Texas and Nashville for a good while now. And now he’s about ready to burst into the country music world proper with his debut record, and is getting a boost from a Country Music Hall of Famer to boot.

Fans have been waiting for a proper full-length record from Triston Marez for a some time through single and EP releases, and the 12-track self-titled album will finally arrive on April 16th via the Torrez Music Group. Ahead of the album, Marez will release the single “Where The Neon Lies,” where he is joined by Ronnie Dunn of Brooks & Dunn fame. The song will be officially released on Friday (3-12), but can be heard early below.

Already regarded highly by many in the country music scene with multiple songs receiving a million-plus spins on Spotify, Triston Marez has been making waves with songs like “Darlin'” and “Until I Found You.” Due to the pandemic, it’s put a damper on his regularly busy live performance schedule, but it also gave Triston the time to put an extra emphasis on songwriting for the new effort. “That was my goal,” he says. “The songs on this album get to the heart of who I am.”

Who Triston is, is a Houston native who was raised in a blue collar family, and received a guitar for his sixth birthday, immediately envisioning country music dreams for his future. After a heart surgery in middle school forced him to stay home for an extended period, Marez poured himself into the guitar and music, and found his life’s purpose. When he won the talent competition at the prestigious Rodeo Houston in 2014, that helped to set his career in motion, moving to Nashville when he was 18, and doing his time down on Lower Broadway paying dues.

Co-writing nine of the new album’s 12 songs, other songwriters featured include Chris Stapleton in a never-before-heard track, and Gabe Lee on a song called “Texas Swing” that also features Tex-Mex stalwarts the Squeezebox Bandits. The album produced by David Dorn and Alex Torrez also features ample twang and steel guitar—traditional country at its finest, but with a splash of youth and enthusiasm that has earned Triston Marez massive appeal already. Now it’s time to take it to the next level.

Injecting an element of coolness into true country is what Triston Marez is all about, and his debut album is definitely highly anticipated.

Track List:

1. Whole Lotta You
2. Day Drinking
3. Reasons To Stay
4. Two Beers On The Bar
5. Where The Neon Lies (with Ronnie Dunn)
6. If You Don’t Know Me By Now
7. Texas Swing (with the Squeezebox Bandits)
8. Cold Cold Night
9. Hits A Little Different
10. When She Calls Me Cowboy
11. She’s Had Enough Of Texas
12. Drink About Me

© 2023 Saving Country Music