Corb Lund’s Sun Studio “Counterfeit Blues” CD/DVD Coming

corb-lund-counterfeit-bluesCorb Lund, the current king of Canadian country (at least in this buckaroo’s estimation), will be releasing his latest studio incarnation called Counterfeit Blues to folks in The States on July 1st, and to those north of the border on June 17th. Counterfeit Blues will not be your average joe release though, it is a CD/DVD combo that captures Corb and his Hurtin’ Albertans live and on the floor within the confines of the legendary Sun Studios in Memphis, reprising some of Corb’s most well-known compositions in new recordings.

“It turned out really well,” says Corb about the new project. “Partly because we know the songs inside out and have played them live a thousand times and partly because recording at Sun is a very old fashioned, low-tech process that ends up sounding really great if you can pull it off. My band has been playing behind me for ten years or more, with all the same members so it was a great way to capture the live chemistry we’ve developed over many, many tours. You can’t fake that.”

Some lucky Canadians may have seen Corb Lund and his Sun recording session as part of a CMT Canada documentary (that didn’t air in The States) called Memphis Sun. That documentary is where the material for the DVD comes from, and it includes three previously-unheard/unseen bonus tracks that were not in the film.

If you’re looking for one modern-day Canadian who can stand tall in his boots and go toe to toe with the American born country legends, it would be Corb Lund. Whether you’re talking about Corb Lund the songwriter, Corb Lund the singer, or Corb Lund the performer, he’s one of these five-tool musicians who can do it all. Growing up on a ranch in Southern Alberta, he’s lived as an authentic country life as any.

Counterfeit Blues CD Tracklist:

1. Counterfeiters’ Blues
2. Good Copenhagen
3. Big Butch Bass Bull Fiddle
4. Hair In My Eyes Like A Highland Steer
5. Little Foothills Heaven
6. Five Dollar Bill
7. Buckin’ Horse Rider
8. Hurtin’ Albertan
9. (Gonna) Shine Up My Boots
10. Truck Got Stuck
11. Roughest Neck Around
12. Truth Comes Out

Memphis Sun DVD Tracklist:

1. Hurtin’ Albertan
2. No Roads Here
3. Little Foothills Heaven
4. Counterfeiters’ Blues
5. Roughest Neck Around
6. Big Butch Bass Bull Fiddle
7. Hair In My Eyes Like A Highland Steer
8. Truck Got Stuck
9. Truth Comes Out
10. Five Dollar Bill
11. Buckin’ Horse Rider (bonus)
12. Good Copenhagen (bonus)
13. (Gonna) Shine Up My Boots (bonus)

© 2024 Saving Country Music