Dave Cobb Added to Country Music Hall of Fame Board

Country and Americana producer extraordinaire, and multi CMA and Grammy Award winner Dave Cobb can now add Country Music Hall of Fame board officer to his resume. He was announced with a host of other new officers by the Country Music Hall of Fame this week, along with the reelection of Vince Gill as the board’s President for the 18th consecutive term, and Steve Turner returning as Chairman of the board—a position he’s held since 2008.

Country Music Hall of Fame trustees and officers do not vote directly on who gets chosen as the Hall of Fame inductees each year. This is handled by an anonymous committee seeded by the Country Music Association, or CMA (read more). But the Hall of Fame board oversee important operations and makes policy decisions affecting the Country Music Hall of Fame itself.

Originally from Savannah, Georgia, Dave Cobb played in a band called The Tender Idols before getting his first producer opportunity for Shooter Jennings in 2005. In 2009 he produced the Oak Ridge Boys’ album The Boys Are Back, which helped put Cobb on the national map. Since then he’s produced award-winning records from Jason Isbell, Chris Stapleton, Sturgill Simpson, Brandi Carlile, Colter Wall, Zac Brown Band, Lori McKenna, Dillon Carmichael, Old Crow Medicine Show, and most recently the debut effort from Ian Noe. Dave Cobb is the go-to music producer in country music and Americana, prolific as he is revered, winning multiple ACM and Americana Music Association awards to go along with his Grammy and CMA trophies. He’s also the current caretaker for the historic Studio ‘A’ in Nashville.

Also named as new Hall of Fame board officers were Jay Turner of MarketStreet Enterprises, and Susan Wente and of Vanderbilt University. They join current officers Earl Bentz, Mike Dungan, Randy Goodman, Keel Hunt, Lon Helton, Donna Nicely, Gary Overton, Jim Seabury, Bill Simmons, Clarence Spalding, Chris Stewart, Troy Tomlinson, Marcus Whitney and Tim Wipperman. Al Giombetti was also elected to a three year term as a trustee and the board’s Executive Vice President, and trustee David Ross was elected as secretary.

Dave Cobb was featured at the Country Music Hall of Fame in 2018 as part of their annual “American Currents” exhibit highlighting some of the most important individuals in country and Americana in the here-and-now.

© 2024 Saving Country Music