Stars Turning Out for Texas Songwriters Hall of Fame Induction

The Texas Heritage Songwriters Association is set to honor its new slate Hall of Fame inductees on February 24th at the Moody Theater in Austin, TX. The legendary Jack Ingram, Jon Randall, Ruthie Foster, Terry McBride, and Eric Johnson make up this year’s inductees. TxHSA will also bestow their Texas Music Legend Award to Seminole, TX-native Tanya Tucker.

The new inductees join an impressive list of previous Hall of Fame members, including all the past Texas songwriting greats like Kris Kristofferson, Willie Nelson, Guy Clark, Billy Joe Shaver, Jerry Jeff Walker, Michael Martin Murphey, Clint Black, Robert Earl Keen, Steve Earle, Ray Wylie Hubbard, Liz Rose, Nancy Griffith, and many more.

Along with the inductees set to take the stage, the list of guest performers includes Miranda Lambert, Emmylou Harris, Lyle Lovett, and Ronnie Dunn. The Texas Songwriters Hall of Fame always has the uncanny ability to pull massive talent to Austin to pay tribute to the songwriters being honored, in part due to the prestige the honor comes with.

Only fitting that Miranda Lambert would be there to help induct Jack Ingram and Jon Randall, who both appeared on her critically-acclaimed songwriter album The Marfa Tapes from 2021. Beyond the work of the two have done with Miranda, both men have enjoyed their own solo careers, with Jack Ingram now considered a legend himself down in Texas, and Jon Randall enjoying a career as a producer as well.

Terry McBride might have made his most public name being the frontman of the successful ’90s country band McBride & The Ride. But when the band officially broke up in 1994, McBride launched a career as a songwriter, writing some 20 songs for Brooks & Dunn alone. This is why Ronnie Dunn has agreed to be there in person to pay respects to McBride.

Originally from Gause, TX, Ruthie Foster is one of the most accomplished folk and blues songwriters from Texas in modern history. After serving in the Navy, she started singing professionally, eventually recording for Atlantic Records. Foster will add her Texas Songwriters Hall of Fame distinction to her mantle of Grammy Awards and other Hall of Fame inductions.

Eric Johnson from Austin, TX proves that it’s not always just words that go into great songwriting, but notes as well. As one of the most highly-regarded guitarists around, his list of songwriting credits and accomplishments is vast.

Previously, Eric Church, Toby Keith, Jeff Hanna, Kacey Musgraves, Randy Rogers, Wade Bowen Rita Coolidge, and a host of others have appeared at the ceremony to honor the inductees.

This event usually sells out immediately, but a few tickets are still left. To purchase tickets, CLICK HERE.

© 2023 Saving Country Music