Americana’s New Board Includes Dave Cobb / Awards Expand to the UK


The Americana Music Association has announced its newest Board of Directors, and signing on for a seat this upcoming year is fast rising producer Dave Cobb. Many of the records he produces are already featured during the organization’s annual awards in September, so a board member selection only makes sense. Other newly-minted board members include Garth Fundis from Slate Creek Records, and Drew Thurlow from Pandora.

The three new board members will join re-elected members John Allen of New West, Jonathan Levine of the Paradigm Talent Agency, John Ingrassia (Vector Management), Mark Moffatt (producer) and Kurt Vitolo (KV Financial Group, PC). Other returning members include President Amanda Hale of Vector Management, 2016 President Elect Cliff O’Sullivan of Rounder/Sugar Hill Records, Carrie Colliton (Record Store Day), Tim Fink (SESAC), Al Moss (Al Moss Promotion), Todd Ohlhauser (Mercy Lounge), Jessie Scott (Music Fog/Sun Radio Austin), and Lynne Sheridan of the Grammy Museum.

On top of seating a new board, the Americana Music Association recently announced the inaugural UK Americana Awards will be held in London on February 3rd, 2016 at St John at Hackney. Singer/songwriter Billy Bragg will be honored in the presentation with a Trailblazer Awards, and other awards will be handed in various UK and international categories. There will be plenty of musical performances too, including an appearance by US songwriter Gretchen Peters.

I feel honoured to be a part of the first ever Americana Music Association UK Awards night and privileged to be recognised by them with the Trailblazer Award – It’s great to be acknowledged by the AMA-UK community in this way,” says Billy Bragg.

The nominees for the inaugural UK Americana Awards can be found below:

UK Album of The Year

  • What Kind of Love – Danny & The Champions of the World (produced by Chris Clarke and Danny George Wilson)
  • Searching for the Supertruth  -The Dreaming Spires (produced by The Dreaming Spires)
  • The Toerag Sessions – Emily Barker (produced by Liam Watson)
  • If I Was – The Staves (produced by Justin Vernon)

International Album of the Year

  • Something More Than Free – Jason Isbell (produced by Dave Cobb)
  • Pageant Material – Kacey Musgraves (produced by Luke Laird, Shane McAnally and Kacey Musgraves)
  • Blackbirds – Gretchen Peters (produced by Doug Lancio, Gretchen Peters & Barry Walsh)
  • Introducing Cale Tyson – Cale Tyson (produced by Cale Tyson)

UK Artist of the Year

  • Bear’s Den
  • Danny & The Champions of The World
  • The Dreaming Spires
  • Lewis & Leigh

International Artist of the Year

  • The Bros. Landreth
  • Jason Isbell
  • Gretchen Peters
  • Sturgill Simpson

UK Song of the Year

  • Agape  Bear’s Den (written by Andrew Davie, Kevin Jones and Johannes Refsdal)
  • Clear Water – Danny & The Champions of the World (written by Danny George Wilson and Paul Lush)
  • Rubble – Lewis & Leigh (written by Al Lewis and Alva Leigh)
  • Black & White – The Staves (written by The Staves)

International Song of the Year

  • 24 Frames – Jason Isbell (written by Jason Isbell)
  • All These Dreams – Andrew Combs (written by Andrew Combs and Jabe Beyer)
  • American Middle Class – Angeleena Presley (written by Angeleena Presley)
  • Blackbirds – Gretchen Peters (written by Gretchen Peters and Ben Glover)

UK Instrumentalist of the Year

  • Joseph Bennett
  • BJ Cole
  • Spencer Cullum Jr
  • Paul Lush
© 2023 Saving Country Music