Newest Adds to Saving Country Music’s Top 25 Current Playlist (#120)

The Saving Country Music Top 25 Playlist is built to keep you informed on all the best songs and albums coming out right here, right now in country and roots music. It’s available on most all streaming formats (see below), or you can just use the song, artist, and album recommendations to find something new to listen to. New songs just added.

Newest Additions:

Tommy Prine – “Cash Carter Hill” – When you start your career by releasing a Saving Country Music Song of the Year (“Ships in the Harbor”), you set a high bar. “Cash Carter Hill” meets that high bar, and finds John Prine’s son searching for his own path forward. Tommy’s debut album This Far South releases on June 23rd.

Ward Davis – “Day One” – Any of the four songs on the new Ward Davis EP Sunday Morning could be added here. “Goodbye World” might be the best of them all, but perhaps so devastating, it would be unfair to unleash it on the public without proper warning. So let’s go with “Day One” about finding sobriety, and leave “Goodbye World” for Song of the year consideration down the road.

Whitney Rose – “You’re Gonna Get Lonely” – Canada’s neotraditional country queen is back, and her new album Rosie is exactly the kind of twangy heartbreak material you were hoping for. “You’re Gonne Get Lonely” is emblematic of the high quality traditional country the album has to offer.

Joe Stamm Band – “Wrong Side of Town” – Midwest country rocker Joe Stamm really says it all in this anthemic ode to the dichotomy of American life that is often illustrated by the bisecting of our communities. The song was released in conjunction with the Joe Stamm Band being named the Emerging Artist of the Year at the Peacemaker Festival in Arkansas (7/28-7/29). EP Fort Smith to be released on July 14th.

Miles Miller – “A Feeling Called Lonesome” – It may take a while for some to not think of him as “Sturgill Simpson’s drummer.” But “A Feeling Called Lonesome” by Miles Millers goes a long way to establishing this newly-minted solo artist as his own man. Debut album Solid Gold out July 7th.

Marty Stuart and His Fabulous Superlatives – “A Friend of Mine” – Marty Stuart really is a country music marvel. He’s in his mid 60s, and still remains as cool and relevant as ever with his California country-infused new album Altitude. The whole album is worth spinning cover to cover, but “A Friend of Mine” stands out with its message.

Hot Country Knights – “Herassmeant” – Doug Douglason (Dierks Bentley) and Darla McFarland (Lainey Wilson) pair for this hilarious single from Hot Country Knights that helps open the second salvo from this 90s country sarcastic side project. It’s not even supposed to be taken seriously, and “Herassmeant” still is a hell of a lot better than whatever radio is playing these days.
– – – – – – – – – –

The Saving Country Music Top 25 Playlist primarily lives on Spotify, but is also available for those who use Amazon Music, YouTubeApple Music, and Tidal. For those who don’t stream music, you can still find the song recommendations in list form below.

CLICK HERE to follow Saving Country Music on Spotify, and/or follow the Spotify Top 25 Playlist.

Please Note: The songs on this playlist are curated for listening pleasure and flow. Otherwise, they are not in any specific order.

Saving Country Music’s Top 25 Current Playlist:

  • “Mean Old Sun” – Turnpike Troubadours – A Cat in the Rain (8-25)
  • “A Friend Of Mine” – Marty Stuart and His Fabulous Superlatives – Altitude
  • “You’re Gonna Get Lonely” – Whitney Rose – Rosie
  • “Herassmeant” – Hot Country Knights w/ Donna McFarland – (single)
  • “Sleep When The Party’s Over” – Malpass Brothers – Lonely Street 
  • “Running Out Of Hope, Arkansas” – Brennen Leigh – Ain’t Through Honky Tonkin’ Yet (6-16)
  • Cash Carter Hill” – Tommy Prine – This Far South (6-23)
  • “California Sober” – Billy Strings feat. Willie Nelson – (single)
  • “Day One” – Ward Davis – Sunday Morning EP
  • “Homemade Crosses” – Leroy from the North – Toughen Up (6-23)
  • “Cast Iron Skillet” – Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit – Weathervanes (6-9)
  • “Girl in the Mirror” – Megan Moroney – Lucky
  • “Easier and Harder” – William Prince – Stand In The Joy 
  • “Drinking Games” – David Adam Byrnes – (single)
  • “A Feeling Called Lonesome” – Miles Miller – Solid Gold (7-7)
  • “State You Left Me In” – Jake Worthington – Self-Titled
  • “Break My Heart” – Bella White – Among Other Things
  • “Wrong Side of Town” – Joe Stamm Band – Fort Smith EP (7-14)
  • “Even Jesus Got The Blues” – Gabe Lee – Drink The River (7-14)
  • “Yesterday’s Burn” – The War and Treaty – Lover’s Game
  • “One Glass of Whiskey” – Robbie Fulks – Bluegrass Vacation
  • “Nobody’s Gonna Cry For Me” – Josie Toney – Extra
  • “Don’t Feel Like a Livin’” – Houston Bernard – Songs for the People EP (5-19)
  • El Dorodo” – Molly Tuttle and Golden Highway – City of Gold (7-21)
  • “I’ve Got Her On My Mind Again” – Malpass Brothers – Lonely Street 
  • “A Cowgirl Rides On” – Victoria Bailey – (single)
© 2024 Saving Country Music